- Pre-Sale Information
- Tax Sale Proceedings
- After the Sale
- Tax Sale Registration Form
- W-9 Form
- Tax Sale Seminar Presentation
- Illinois Compiled Statutes
- Posting Subsequent Taxes (after current years tax becomes delinquent)
- Posting Subsequent Taxes (after petitioning for deed)
What is a Tax Sale?
- By Illinois State Statutes (35ILCS200) the county collector/treasurer is required to sell any taxes that have not been paid in full for the current tax year.
- We do not sell the house. We sell only the unpaid taxes.
- All registered tax buyers and their appointed representatives at the tax sale must be 18 years of age or older at the time of registration.
- At the sale, a tax buyer pays/buys the taxes, then the county collector distributes the money from the sale to each of the taxing bodies to make them whole.
- After the sale is completed the homeowner of record deals directly with the Lake County Clerk's Office for the redemption.
- If taxes are not redeemed in 2 years (vacant property) or 2.5 years (house), the homeowner could lose the property.
- The longer time between the sale and redemption, the higher the penalty is likely to be.
- Hopefully, this sheds a little light on the tax sale process. If you have questions or concerns, please call the Treasurer's Office at 847-377-2323.