Aaron Lawlor (District 18)

Aaron Lawlor

Lake County Board Chairman

Mail: 18 North County Street, 10th Floor, Waukegan, IL 60085
Office phone: 847-377-2300
I represent District 18, which includes Vernon Hills and Indian Creek, as well as portions of Hawthorn Woods, Long Grove, Mundelein, and unincorporated Lake County. I have been on the board since 2009 and have served as chairman since 2012. My main priorities are fiscal responsibility, transparency, government openness/accessibility, and transportation. 
Read my bio

Take my Survey - What County Priorities are Important to You?

Dirty Jobs

Lake County’s Dirty Jobs, hosted by County Board Chairman Aaron Lawlor, takes you behind the scenes of some of Lake County government’s dirty and difficult jobs. View previous episodes here.

Elected Offices

  • Lake County Board, Chairman (2012-present) and Member (2009-present)
  • Lake County Forest Preserve District (2009-present)
  • Cook Memorial Public Library District, President (2005-2009) and Trustee (2003-2009)

Professional and Community Involvement

  • Chair, Lake County Navy League Annual Membership Breakfast (2016)
  • Board Member, Lake County United Way (2016 - Present)
  • Board Member, A Safe Place (2016 - Present)
  • Lake County Partners, Board of Governors and Operations Committee
  • Lake County Transportation Alliance, Board & Executive Committee
  • Chair, Lake County Navy League Annual Awards Dinner (2015)
  • Honorary Chair, Lake County Center for Independent Living Gala, (2014)
  • Vice-Chair, Chicago Metropolitan Agency for Planning (CMAP) MPO Policy Committee (2013-present)
  • Route 53 Blue Ribbon Advisory Council (BRAC), Co-Chair (2012-present)
  • Route 53 Land Use Planning Committee, Co-Chair (2013-present)
  • Solid Waste Agency of Lake County (SWALCO), Board of Directors (2010-2012)
  • Community Development Commission (2011-2012), Ex-Officio (2012-present)
  • Friends of Ryerson Woods, Board Liaison (2010-present)
  • Hawthorn District 73 Future Search Strategic Planning Committee (2010)
  • North Suburban Library System Board of Directors (2008-2009)
  • Program Manager, Government & Community Affairs, Office of Illinois Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka
  • Office of Congressman Mark Kirk, Deputy District Director
  • Condell Community Health Council Member

Lake County Committees


  • Lake County Board (2009-present), Chairman (2012-present)
  • Ad Hoc Government Reform Implementation Committee, Chair


  • Health and Community Services, Chair (2010-2012)
  • Finance and Administration (2010-2012)
  • Law and Judicial (2009-2010)
  • Planning, Building and Zoning, Vice-Chair (2009-2010)

Forest Preserve District Committees


  • Finance


  • Ethics, Chair
  • Facilities


  • Masters in Business Administration, Lake Forest Graduate School of Management
  • Bachelor's degree, Lake Forest College
  • Libertyville High School