Voter Registration

  Voter registration allows qualified voters to participate in the electoral process and exercise one of their most basic rights.

Illinois does not have a political party registration system. However, in a primary election, you must select one political party ballot to vote or request a non-partisan ballot (public questions only) if available. You have the freedom to change your party choice in each primary election.
As a result of growth in Lake County, implementation of the National Voter Registration Act (Motor Voter), Grace Registration on Election Day, and online voter registration the number of registered voters in Lake County has increased to an all time high of over 450,000 voters! We process an average of nearly 1,200 applications each week.

Am I Registered to Vote?

Verify your voter registration status on our Voter Power page.

Voter Power Login Screen

Who Can Register?

To register to vote you must:
  • Be a United States citizen,
  • Be at least 18 years of age on or before the next election (17 year old residents may register and vote in primaries if 18th birthday occurs on or before date of general election),
  • Live in your election precinct at least 30 days immediately prior to an election,
  • Not be convicted and in jail, and
  • Not claim the right to vote anywhere else.
Two forms of identification are required to register through a deputy registrar:

Voter Registration



When Can I Register?

If you need to update your record or register for the first time, voter registration is open all year except for the 27 days preceding an election, and it reopens the second day following an election. After voter registration closes, Grace Period Registration begins 27 days before any election, and you are required to vote at the time of your registration. .

How Can I Register?

While voter registration is open, you can register in-person, online, or by mail.


You can register in-person at:
  • The County Clerk’s office, 18 N. County Street, Waukegan during weekday business hours,
  • The Illinois Department of Motor Vehicle facility when there for other services,
  • Most municipal or township offices,
  • Most libraries,
  • Precinct committeemen, or 
  • Qualified civic organizations.
Find a location in our brochure, Official Places of Voter Registration or look for a poster at a municipal building, library, or deputy registrar event.


Online voter registration is available at Illinois State Board of Elections’ website ( while voter registration is open.

You must provide:
  • Valid Illinois Driver’s License or Illinois State ID number,
  • Last four digits of Social Security number
  • Date the license or ID was issued, AND
  • Your birth date.
    Illinois State Board of Elections online registration
By Mail

Completed applications must be postmarked or delivered to the County Clerk’s office 28 days prior to Election Day. If your identity cannot be verified or sufficient proof of identity is not provided with the application, you must vote in-person the first time and present valid identification before a ballot is issued. 

Mail-In Voter Registration Form - download PDF or form to complete online and print

Grace Period Registration

After deputy registrar and mail-in voter registration closes, Grace Period Registration is available and allows you to update your record or register for the first time.

You must:

  • Meet citizenship, age, and residency voter registration requirements,
  • Provide two forms of valid identification (one document must show your current physical address), and
  • Vote at the time of your registration.

Grace Period Registration is available at:

When Do I Re-register?

You need to re-register or update your registration when you move or change your name.

Change of Name

Should you change your name by marriage, divorce or other legal name change and move, you must re-register under your new name and provide the new signature on your registration record. Two forms of identification with your new name are required, one of which must have your current physical address.

Change of Address

If you move within Lake County, you must provide written notification of your new address and sign the request:
  • Mail notification including your name, old and new address, date of birth and your signature or,
  • Complete the back of your Voter's Certificate of Registration Card including your signature.
If you move to Lake County from another county or another state, you must complete a new registration application.

The Lake County Clerk's office is required to verify the accuracy of the voter rolls. This is accomplished by mailing notices to confirm the respective at the address on file.

Voter's Certificate of Registration Card

The Voter's Certificate of Registration Card is your informational source for determining where to vote and your congressional, state senate, state representative and county board districts.

You are not required to present your voter card in order to vote early or on Election Day, though it is helpful as a quick reference tool for your correct precinct number and voting districts.

If you are registered with your correct name and address, you can log onto to print a personalized card.