Navigate Up
Sign In
County Government  

Lake County Government

The Lake County Board is made up of 21 elected members who serve either a four year or two year term and represent the citizens who reside in each member’s district. The County seat is in Waukegan.

The Board serves as the legislative body of county government, which is made up of 2,800 employees. The County allocates funding to more than 30 departments and divisions that provide services from water and sewage treatment and law enforcement to health care and criminal justice, to name a few. There are also eight independently elected officials responsible for their respective departments.

  • Boards, Agencies and Commissions such as Affordable Housing, Community Development, Emergency Management, Jury, Regional Planning, Solid Waste, Stormwater Management and more
  • County Board includes links to all board member pages, information about standing committees, Liquor Commissions contacts and more
  • County Board Appointments lists available boards, agencies, and commissions and ways to apply to vacant spots
  • County Budget & Financial Statements including "Budget in Brief" and the complete Lake County government budget
  • County Services A to Z for a complete list of services from Assessments to Zoning
  • Departments (A-I) includes county departments beginning with Adult Probation Services through Information Technology
  • Departments (J-Z) includes county departments beginning with Juvenile Probation/Detention Services through Workforce Development
  • Elected Officials includes county board members and countywide elected officials
  • Judicial Branch departments includes Clerk of the Circuit Court, Coroner, 19th Judicial Circuit Court, Public Defender, State's Attorney and Sheriff's Office
  • News and Information such as forms, maps, newsletters, news releases, strategic plan and more
  • Ordinances and Codes including building codes, county board approved ordinances and the Lake County Unified Development Ordinance
  • Other Government including townships, cities and villages

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
Alert Lake County
Find Help