Sign In
Planning, Building & Development  

Housing and Community Development Commission (HCDC)

We envision Lake County as a place, unified by diversity, where residents of all income levels have the opportunity to live, work and thrive by building successful partnerships with local governments, service providers, developers and fellow residents.

Agendas & Minutes

2016 HCDC Meeting Schedule

Composition and Role of Commission

The Housing and Community Development Commission consists of sixteen appointed and two ex-officio members. The appointed members are nominated by the County Board Chairman and approved by the County Board. The fifteen members include five representatives from the County Board, five Mayors, Village Presidents, or Township Supervisors, and six Lake County residents. The ex-officio members are the County Board Chairman and the Chairman of the County Board's Health and Community Services Committee.

The Commission is responsible for overseeing local administration of the Federal Community Development Block Grant Program, HOME Investment Partnerships Program, and the Emergency Solutions Grant Program and other related programs. The Commission is responsible for developing the Consolidated Housing and Community Development Plan by identifying community needs, setting priorities, and establishing goals. The Commission uses these goals to help determine which activities to fund on an annual basis.

 Housing and Community Development Commission By-Laws


Ray Rose (Chair) 
Linda Pedersen, County Board Member - District 1 (Vice-Chair)
Judy Armstrong
Carol Calabresa, County Board Member - District 15
Steve Carlson, County Board Member - District 7 (Ex-officio)
Mary Ross Cunningham, County Board Member - District 9
Sandra Hart, County Board Member - District 13
Diane Hewitt, County Board Member - District 2
Leonard Krapf
Aaron Lawlor, County Board Chair - District 18 (Ex-officio)
Joseph Mancino, Mayor - Village of Hawthorn Woods
Karl Molek
Virginia Mulligan
Harriet Rosenthal, Mayor - Village of Deerfield 
Burnell Russell
Glenn Swanson, Wauconda Township Supervisor
Janet Swartz

Dan Venturi, Lake Villa Township Supervisor

Meeting Dates and Place

The Housing and Community Development Commission generally meets on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 3:30 PM in the 10th floor Assembly Room at the County Administration Building in Waukegan, with occasional meetings at the Central Permit Facility in Libertyville (please see schedule). Public Hearings are held in conjunction with regular monthly meetings, with public notices appearing in the News Sun and sent to a list of interested parties.


The Housing and Community Development Commission has five standing committees.

Executive Committee
The Executive Committee is composed of six Commissioners.

  • Linda Pedersen, Chair
  • Dan Venturi, Vice-Chair
  • Carol Calabresa
  • Janet Swartz
  • Ray Rose
  • Burnell Russell

The Executive Committee has the following responsibilities:

  • Review recommendations from Advisory and Recommendation Committees to ensure compliance with regulations and consistency with available funding, and make recommendations to the full Commission regarding such matters.
  • Hear and render judgment on formal appeals (as outlined in the Citizen Participation Plan) of any decisions made by the staff or Commission in regard to its programs or policies. The decision of the Executive Committee shall be final.
  • Assign Commissioners to an Advisory and Recommendation Committee.
  • Assist in the development of plans for informational and/or educational presentations to the full Commission.

Meetings are held as needed, on the 2nd Wednesday of the month at 2:30 PM on the 10th floor of the County Administration Building in Waukegan, with occasional meetings at the Central Permit Facility in Libertyville (please see schedule).  Two other meetings are held at the end of the calendar year to hear appeals and to review the work of the Advisory and Recommendation Committees (see below).

Advisory and Recommendation Committee  (ARC)

There are four Advisory and Recommendation Committees; 1) Public Improvements ARC, 2) Housing ARC, 3) Public Services ARC and 4) Homeless Assistance ARC. The ARC membership is as follows:

 Public Infrastructure ARC

Affordable Housing ARC

Public Services ARC

Homeless Assistance ARC

Leonard Krapf Judy Armstrong  Diane Hewitt  Mary Cunningham
Joe Mancino Carol Calabresa  Sandra Hart  Harriet Rosenthal
Karl Molek Janet Swartz   Ray Rose  Burnell Russell
Linda Pedersen Ginny Mulligan  Glenn Swanson  Dan Venturi


Each ARC has the following responsibilities:

  • Review applications or requests for funding.
  • Make recommendations of projects to be funded to the Executive Committee.
  • Provide feedback to Community Development staff on scoring and ranking decisions in order for
    appropriate technical assistance to be provided to applicants.

Meetings are held as needed.

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
Alert Lake County
Find Help
Contact Information
500 W. Winchester Rd. Unit 101
Libertyville, IL 60048
Community Development

Phone: 847.377.2475
Fax: 847.984.5745

Hours: Mon - Fri 8:30am to 5:00pm