Navigate Up
Sign In
Sheriff's Office  

Illinois Sex Offender and Child Murderer Community Notification Law

This Illinois statute gives law enforcement agencies authority to disclose information about registered sex offenders to members of the public.

Contents

152/101. Short Title

152/105. Definitions

152/110. Registration

152/115. Sex Offender Database

152/117. Promulgation Of Rules

152/120. Community Notification Of Sex Offenders

730 ILCS 152/101. Short Title

This Article may be cited as the Sex Offender and Child Murderer Community Notification Law.

[ Back to top ]

152/105. Definitions

As used in this Article, the following definitions apply:

"Child care facilities" has the meaning set forth in the Child Care Act of 1969, but does not include licensed foster homes.

"Law enforcement agency having jurisdiction" means the Chief of Police in the municipality in which the sex offender expects to reside (1) upon his or her discharge, parole or release or (2) during the service of his or her sentence of probation or conditional discharge, or the Sheriff of the county, in the event no Police Chief exists or if the offender intends to reside in an unincorporated area.

"Sex offender" means any sex offender as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act whose offense or adjudication as a sexually dangerous person occurred on or after June 1, 1996 and whose victim was under the age of 18 at the time the offense was committed but does not include the offenses set forth in subsection (b)(1.5) of Section 2 of that Act; and any sex offender as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act hose offense or adjudication as a sexually dangerous person occurred on or after June 1, 1997 and whose victim was 18 years of age or older at the time the offense was committed but does not include the offenses set forth in subsection (b)(1.5) of Section 2 of that Act.

"Sex offender" also means any sex offender as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act whose offense or adjudication as a sexually dangerous person occurred before June 1, 1996 and whose victim was under the age of 18 at the time the offense was committed but does not include the offenses set forth in subsection (b)(1.5) of Section 2 of that Act; and any sex offender as defined in the Sex Offender Registration Act whose offense or adjudication as a sexually dangerous person occurred before June 1, 1997 and whose victim was 18 years of age or older at the time the offense was committed but does not include the offenses set forth in subsection (b)(1.5) of Section 2 of that Act.

[ Back to top ]

152/110. Registration

At the time a sex offender registers under Section 3 of the Sex Offender Registration Act or reports a change of address under Section 6 of that Act, the offender shall notify the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction with whom the offender registers or reports a change of address that the offender is a sex offender.

[ Back to top ]

152/115. Sex Offender Database

The Department of State Police shall establish and maintain Statewide Sex Offender Database for the purpose of identifying sex offenders and making that information available to the persons specified in Sections 120 and 125 of this Law. The Database shall be created from the Law Enforcement Agencies Data System (LEADS) established under Section 6 of the Intergovernmental Missing Child Recovery Act of 1984. The Department of State Police shall examine its LEADS database for persons registered as sex offenders under the Sex Offender Registration Act and shall identify those who are sex offenders and shall add all the information on those sex offenders to the Statewide Sex Offender Database.

[ Back to top ]

152/117. Promulgation Of Rules

The Department of State Police shall promulgate rules to develop a list of sex offenders covered by this Act and a list of child care facilities and schools eligible to receive notice under this Act, so that the list can be disseminated in a timely manner to law enforcement agencies having jurisdiction.

[ Back to top ]

152/120. Community Notification Of Sex Offenders

(a) The sheriff of the county, except Cook County, shall disclose to the following the name, address, date of birth, and offense or adjudication of all sex offenders required to register under Section 3 of the Sex Offender Registration Act:

(1) (Blank);
(2) School boards of public school districts and the principal or other appropriate administrative officer of each nonpublic school located in the county where the sex offender resides;
(3) Child care facilities located in the county where the sex offender resides;

(a-2) The sheriff of Cook County shall disclose to the following the name, address, date of birth, and offense or adjudication of all sex offenders required to register under Section 3 of the Sex Offender Registration Act:
(1) School boards of public school districts and the principal or other appropriate administrative officer of each nonpublic school located within the region of Cook County, as those public school districts and nonpublic schools are identified in LEADS, other than the City of Chicago, where the sex offender resides; and
(2) Child care facilities located within the region of Cook County, as those child care facilities are identified in LEADS, other than the City of Chicago, where the sex offender resides.

(a-3) The Chicago Police Department shall disclose to the following the name, address, date of birth, and offense or adjudication of all sex offenders required to register under Section 3 of the Sex Offender Registration Act:
(1) School boards of public school districts and the principal or other appropriate administrative officer of each nonpublic school located in the police district where the sex offender resides if the offender resides in the City of Chicago; and
(2) Child care facilities located in the police district where the sex offender resides if the offender resides in the City of Chicago.

(a-4) The Department of State Police shall provide a list of sex offenders required to register to the Illinois Department of Children and Family Services.
(b) The Department of State Police and any law enforcement agency having jurisdiction may disclose, in the Department's or agency's discretion, the following information to any person likely to encounter a sex offender required to register under Section 3 of the Sex Offender Registration Act:

(1) The offender's name, address, and date of birth.
(2) The offense for which the offender was convicted.
(3) Adjudication as a sexually dangerous person.

(c) The name, address, date of birth, and offense or adjudication for sex offenders required to register under Section 3 of the Sex Offender Registration Act shall be open to inspection by the public as provided in this Section. Every municipal police department shall make available at its headquarters the information on all sex offenders who are required to register in the municipality under the Sex Offender Registration Act. The sheriff shall also make available at his or her headquarters the information on all sex offenders who are required to register under that Act and who live in unincorporated areas of the county. The information shall be made available for public inspection according to procedures set by the department or sheriff, or upon request of any person presented in writing, in person, or by telephone. The law enforcement agency may make available the information on all sex offenders residing within the county.
(Source: P.A. 89-428, Art. 1, § 120, eff. June 1, 1996; P.A. 89-462, Art. 1, § 120, eff. June 1, 1996. Amended by P.A. 89-707, § 20, eff. June 1,1997.)

[ Back to top ]


Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Lake County, Illinois
847.377.2000
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
PASSAGE
Alert Lake County
Find Help