Navigate Up
Sign In
Lake County Treasurer  

Late Payment Penalty

  • According to the Illinois Compiled Statues, 35 ILCS 200/15 the Lake County Collector is bound by state law to collect 1.5% penalty on any unpaid installment balance after the due dates. 
  • Late payments will be accepted with the understanding that any unpaid balance or full payment received after the installment due dates, will incur a state imposed 1.5% late fee per month (starting the day after the due date for the balance of 30 days). 
  • Late fees will increase to 3% for the next 30 days, etc.
  • This year's due dates being June 3rd and September 3rd, the penalty is calculated on the 4th of each month and is not prorated by state law.  
  • Forgiveness of the penalty must be due to a Lake County error and must be documented. 
  • Not receiving a tax bill, medical emergencies, travel or payment history do not qualify for exemption. 

 Penalty Percentage Table

 

 Payment Date


1st Installment 

 


2nd Installment

By June 3rd

0%

0%

June 4th -  July 3rd

1.5%

0%

July 4th - August 3rd
 

3.0%

0%

 August 4th - September 3rd

  4.5% 

 0%
 

September 4th - October 3rd

6.0%

1.5%

October 4th - November 13th

7.5%

3.0%

 

 

  • On October 21st a $10.00 final notice and publication fee will be added to your tax bill.
  • As of November 2nd we will only accept the following forms of payment:  cash, cashiers check, money order or certified check. 
  • To avoid tax sale, payments must be received in the Treasurer’s Office by 5:00 pm on Friday, November 13, 2015.

Contact Us
Parking and Directions
Website Disclaimer
Site Map
Feedback Wanted, Take our Website Survey
Lake County, Illinois
847.377.2000
18 N. County Street
Waukegan, IL 60085
About Our County
PASSAGE
Alert Lake County
Find Help
Contact Information
David Stolman, Treasurer
18 N. County St., Rm. 102
Waukegan, IL 60085-4351
Ph: 847.377.2323
Fx: 847.984.5899
Hours:
Monday through Friday
8:30 AM to 5:00 PM 
Due Dates Only: 
8:30 AM to 7:00 PM​
Related Links